Fremont’s Sourdough Rye (and Wedding Picnic Preview)

Today we went shopping and knocked lots of things off our wedding list. We now own adorable spoons, more thrifty dessert plates, a few baskets (approximately 1/8 the number we need to provide picnics to each table at our park reception), ribbons, giant Tupperware containers, etc. It was exhausting as can be expected, so we were itching to get home.

When I arrived to my residence I found a delightful surprise. Fremont and Billi (our Ginger Bug) fermented Carrot Walnut Muffins. They did a great job and the end products were delicious. I didn’t measure anything, so I can tell you that they included: Whole Wheat Flour, AP Flour, Billi, Fremont, Almond Milk, Oil, Sugar, Eggs, Salt, Walnuts, Cinnamon, Nutmeg, etc. Experiment with those things, and you’ll be a happy camper. While the oven was increasing in temperature for bread baking, Fremont and Billi’s Carrot Walnut Muffins baked.

My bread baking teachers (who perhaps haven’t any idea they’ve been teaching me since we met) are remarkable.  The Brown family is full of bread knowledge. I do not kid–not about this.  I assure you that spending a moment with them in a kitchen will make you a better chef, a better baker and (arguably) a better person. If you’ve had the privilege of ever watching one of the Brown’s bake, you know what I mean. Trevor is especially astonishing when he works with bread. Despite what I believed, I hadn’t a clue what it meant to love baking prior to meeting Trevor. He’ll deny it, but it is true. (I pray he doesn’t attempt to delete that last bit from this post). Watching him has given me the confidence I needed to venture into bread baking myself.

Today I attempted my first sourdough rye using Fremont (our beloved sourdough starter). Per usual, I combined ideas from a number of recipes and methods from observing the Brown family. Additionally, I altered ratios because I find it nearly impossible to follow directions without being first convinced that said directions are going to result in the best product. There is a tiny scientist inside of me who insists upon recipe improvement and modification prior to a first attempt. That’s probably abnormal. I digress.

Fremont’s Sourdough Rye Bread
1/4 c. Fed Fremont (Sourdough Starter)
1/4 t. Commercial Yeast
3/4 c. Water
1 1/2 c. Rye Flour
1 1/2 c. Bread Flour
2 T. Molasses
1 t. Salt (I would use up to 2 if I were to redo this)
1-2 t. Lemon/Lime Zest
2 t. Fennel
1/2 t. black pepper

Mix starter and yeast with water. Add Fennel, Citrus Zest, Pepper, and Molasses. Gradually incorporate flours and salt into the dough mixture. Cover for 15-30 minutes. Mix/Knead Dough. Let rest for another 15-30. Knead/Mix again. For a third time, let the dough rest. Knead/Mix dough. Let dough rest (in a covered bowl) for 10-16 hours (temperature dependent). Form loaves into batards and let rise in Bannetons for 1-4 hours (temperature dependent again). Cook at 450-475* for 35-50 minutes (until the internal temperature is 200* and the coloring is to your liking).

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment